Private Browsing

We understand that some people may be worried about someone finding out that you have visited The Bridgeway website. Below is information about how you can view the website as safely as possible.

If you are not alone when viewing the site, for example you live in a shared house or are viewing the site on a shared computer, then the quickest and easiest way to hide the site is by clicking the ‘Hide this Site' button at the top of the page. This button is visible on the top right hand side of all pages within this site. The Hide this Site button does not remove the website address from your internet history; it simply redirects the page to the Google homepage.

Although it is not possible to completely remove all traces of movement on the internet, you can take further steps to reduce the possibility of people knowing that you have visited The Bridgeway.

By setting your computer to delete the temporary files that are normally automatically stored in your computer's history, you can make it harder to find out that you have visited our website. Even if this works, it is possible that someone else who normally uses this computer would notice that the history had been deleted. You may feel it is safer to try and find information about sexual abuse support services on another computer, such as in a local library or on a friend's computer. There are different instructions for how to delete the temporary file history, depending on which internet browser you are using; details are below.

 

Internet Explorer

To find out which version of Internet explorer you are using, click the ‘Help' button and select ‘About Internet Explorer', then follow the instructions below for the version you are using.

Version 8 & up
In the toolbar at the top of your web browser the select the ‘Safety' button and then select ‘InPrivate Browsing'. A new window will open and any sites you look at whilst under InPrivate Browsing will not be recorded on your machine. In the ‘Safety' menu, you can also select ‘Delete Browsing History' which will open a list of tick boxes for removing browsing history. Select all of the following; 'Temporary Internet Files', 'Cookies' and 'History', then select ‘Delete', at the bottom of the popup.

Version 7
In the ‘Tools' menu at the top, select ‘Delete Browsing History'. The popup shows a list where you can select items to remove that will have been saved to your computer whilst browsing the web. Select ‘Delete files...', ‘Delete cookies...' and ‘Delete history...' buttons.